Thinking about PC .... should I go with a 'kit'?

Discussion in 'Car Detailing Product Discussion' started by XanderNFS, Jul 3, 2010.

1. XanderNFS

XanderNFS Virgin Detailer

I am just getting into detailing and so far have only been doing wash/clay/wax. I've been toying with the idea of getting a pc and was wondering, since I don't have an polishes, should I get a 'kit'? I've been looking on DD and looking at the pc kit with pads (4) and 3 Menzerna products. I've also been thinking of getting JUST the pc with pads and a bottle of PO83 & PO106FA which comes out the be just as the 'kit'.

On the other hand, since I am still a novice and am only doing this as a hobby, would I be getting in over my head since I've never used a rotary polisher? Should I invest more into what I am currently doing and go from there?

Thanks,
    Xander

2. mx22

mx22 Any Rag Vehicle Washer

You should get a kit - if you plan to polish the car, you would still need to have polishes and pads. Would be cheaper to buy it all in a set then separately. One thing though, make sure you buy at least 2 sets of pads. I've just polished my car with PC for the first time and it was nice to have a spare set of pads. One of the orange pads is pretty much gone too... That said, I did not use green pads at all - so maybe Phil can substitute green pad for an orange for you?

P.S. It is not all that hard to use polisher. Head over to Adam's forums and checkout videos by Junkman, he explains it all in great detail. Definitely the best videos I've seen and they helped me a great deal with the first polish...

Cheers!

3. togwt

togwt Nuba Guru

Contact Detailer's Domain (a forum sponser) they will suggest a 'kit' from a hands-on standpoint as opposed to just selling you stuff

4. Bunky

Bunky Guest

The right kit would be the most cost effective approach.