Mercedes C63 AMG coupe... Spring detail and correction

Discussion in 'Show and Shine' started by gthal, May 13, 2012.

1. gthal

gthal Two Bucket System Washer

I will start off with the disclaimer that I'm not a pro detailer nor am I a pro photographer :).

Spring is here and my C63 coupe needed a little TLC. I got the car in December and only applied a sealant to get me through winter (Menzerna Powerlock). I let the dealer wash it when it was in for service as I knew I would be doing a full Spring detail so I was prepared to accept a little marring and swirls. Having said that, the dealer actually does a fairly decent job at it as far as dealers go.

Process:

- Foamed and washed car with Chemical Guys Maxi Suds II
    - Applied P21S total auto wash as needed to deal with real dirt/tar
    - Clay barred the car
    - Sprayed the car with Iron X and agitated
    - Rewashed
    - Polished with my Griot's random orbital (Menzerna Power Finish/Orange LC pad and a white pad)
    - CarPro Eraser to clean up
    - 2 coats of CQuartz

I may not use CQuartz again (Wolf's next time) as it is a pain in a$$ to remove. First coat was no issue but the second coat was a real issue. I love the result and it is very easy on but it is finicky and hit or miss for removal. Also, I initially was using CarPro Fixer Polish but found that it did not cut as well as the Menzerna. I was actually fairly disappointed with the Fixer Polish. It had a hard time removing light swirls with the orange pad. Menzerna had now issue removing the swirls and finishing down nicely. Menzerna has never let me down!! Sometimes you just need to stick to the tried and true...

Total time was about 14 hours including the interior.

A few before pictures... it wasn't in too bad of shape but definitely needed work

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

After shots...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]